General Election - November 8, 2016 

Positions up for Election:  Mayor and Council Member for Ward 1, Ward 4, and Ward 6

Filing Period

Closed on August 22, 2016 at 5:00 p.m.

 Uncontested Candidates: Bob Bruggeman - Mayor
Brian L. Matthews - Council Member Ward 4
Josh Davis - Council Member Ward 6

 Contested Candidate: Jean H. Matlock - Council Member Ward 1
Tylesha M. Ross - Candidate for Council Member Ward 1

Photo ID Required for Voting in Texas
Please click here for more information.

Voting by Mail and Early Voting

Last Day to Register to Vote: October 11, 2016 (Tuesday)
Last Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail (Received, not Postmarked): October, 28, 2016 (Friday)

Early Voting is Monday, October 24th to Friday, November 4th from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
and Saturday, October 29th and Sunday, October 30th at times set forth by Bowie County.
Early Voting will be held at the following two locations:

Bowie County Courthouse (1st Floor - Lounge)
710 James Bowie Drive New Boston, TX 75570

Bi-State Justice Building (West Side - Entrance)
100 No. State Line Avenue
Texarkana, TX 75501

Tuesday, November 8th - Election Day - All polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

City Candidate Guide 
Becoming A City Official Guide


Election Precinct Map 

Helpful Election Links


Notice of Election 
Notice of Election (Fire Fighter)
Petition to Adopt the Fire and Police Employees Relations Act 

Campaign Treasurer Appointment by Candidate 
Campaign Treasurer Appointment Instruction Guide 
Campaign Finance Report 
Campaign Finance Report Instruction Guide